top of page

What to do with all these patches that won't fit?

Girls need to learn how to make choices. This is a good teaching moment and it should be taken advantage of, not dismissed.

She doesn't not have to have every "pizza party" or "I sold cookies" patch on her vest. I highly recommend sewing NOT ironing or gluing. I hand sew and they stay fine. If she gets a new one she loves, she chooses one to remove and we add the new one. Extras, and those that don't make the cut, go on her Tote bag, patch jacket or camp blanket.

My daughter wore her tan vest for 7 years and we never had an issue, even when younger she never complained that every patch was not on the back. It is a teaching moment; you can't have everything, where would you put it, choose which ones go where. She still has the patch and chose another place to put it. She loved that the new one was now there and she had moved one she didn't like that much anymore.

My youngest has followed with no issue. I think more often than not, it is the parent who thinks she has to wear every patch.

I take advantage of this teaching moment of making choices, I hope you will too!


Recent Posts
bottom of page